Contents                    Sources                       Surnames

Descent from Matthew le Poer to Katherine Power (line 5721)


Last updated:        19 April 2005


Henry le Poer (probably s of Philip le Poer, of St Lawrence, Pembs) was granted by King John a very large area centred on Dunhill in mid- and east Co Waterford; his descendants, known as (feudal) Barons of Dunhill, survived in a direct line to c 1360, but even by 1300 there were many important cadet branches, including that of: 

Matthew (also called Makin, a diminutive of Matthew) le Poer


John fitz Matthew, called in later genealogies Seoinín na Buile (‘Mad Johnnie’); m Joan – and d c 1331


Richard Mór (‘The Great’) fitz John fitz Matthew; Ch Serjeant Co Waterford 1350, Sheriff 1367–68; assumed chieftaincy of POWERs in their conflict with the citizens of Waterford after the death of the last Baron of Dunhill; d after 1376


David Rothe (i.e., Ruadh, or ‘The Red’), to whom his father conveyed lands in and around Clonea in 1351 and 1354; apptd 8 Dec 1388 with his father-in-law to negotiate with those POWERs who were in open rebellion; m Ellen, dau and eventual heir of Nicholas le Poer, of Kilmeadon (whose estates passed by entail to her illegitimate brother but were unsuccessfully claimed by the 3rd Lord Power 1586)


Nicholas Power, called ‘MacDavy Rothe’; Sherif Waterford 1425–45 but for a brief interval 1431 when Milo Power, last of the Barons of Dunhill (dspl) held that office, and converted it to a local lordship; known as the most hospitable of the Anglo-Normans of Munster; d 1445


Richard Power; styled Chief of his name; succeeded his father as Sheriff of Waterford and held on to the post even though the Irish Parliament tried in 1476 in response to his opponents the citizens of Waterford to oust him; m Elena, dau of Sir Edmond ‘Mac Richard’ Butler, and d 3 Oct 1483


Sir Piers Power; Chief of his name; succeeded his father as Sheriff Co Waterford from 1482, apparently relinquishing his shrieval authority to his son Richard c 1500; m his cousin Katherine (d after 1525), dau of Sir Gerald FitzGerald, feudal Ld of the Decies and d after 2 Aug 1521


Richard Power, 1st Baron of Le Poer and Coroghmore, k by Connor O’Callaghan 10 Nov 1538 while intervening on the Crown’s behalf in a struggle concerning the succession to the Earldom of Desmond; m. by 1526 Katherine (2nd dau of 8th Earl of Ormonde and (1st Earl of) Ossory) who d. 17 March 1552/3. Created Baron 13 Sept 1535, Sheriff Waterford


John Power Mor, 3rd Baron Le Power and Coroghmore; b c 1529–30; m 1st Eleanor, 3rd dau of 13th Earl of Desmond


Richard Power, 4th Baron Le Power and Coroghmore, d 8 Aug 1607; b c 1553; m Katherine, only dau and heiress of 3rd Viscount Buttevant


John Power Og, dvp by 18 Dec 1600; m. Helen Barry, 2nd dau of 5th Viscount Buttevant


John Power, 5th Baron Le Power and Coroghmore; b 1599; educ Inner Temple; disordered in his wits in later life; m Ruth, dau and heiress of Robert Pypho, of St. Mary’s Abbey, Dublin


Richard Power, 6th Baron Le Power and Coroghmore, also 1st Earl of Tyrone and Viscount Decies, b 1630, d a Jacobite prisoner in Tower of London 14 Oct 1690; m 1654 Lady Dorothy Annesley, dau of 1st Earl of Anglesey. Capt Regt of Foot Feb 1660/1, Governor Waterford City and Co 1661, MP (I Parl) Co Waterford 1661–65/6, Col of Foot 1670


James Power, 3rd and last Earl of Tyrone of the 1672 creation, d. 19 Aug 1704; m. 13 Dec 1692 Anne, est dau and coheir of Andrew Rickard, of Dangan Spidoge, Co Kilkenny


Katherine Power m. 16 July 1717 Sir Marcus Beresford, 1st Earl of Tyrone


Source:         All information taken from Burke’s Peerage and Baronetage